Skip to main content

About


Circulation Policies

The word "circulation" in the library context refers to the process of borrowing and returning books and other items. The Start-Kilgour Memorial Library at Simpson University operates under the following circulation policies.

Checkout Privileges

The Start-Kilgour Memorial Library extends checkout privileges to the following individuals: students, faculty and staff of Simpson University, students and faculty of Shasta Bible College, students and faculty of Shasta College and local clergy. See the section Who Can Use the Library? for more details. All eligible patrons that are not students or employees of Simpson University must complete an application to borrow library materials before borrowing. Individuals who are granted checkout privileges accept all patron responsibilities including overdue fees, material charges, etc. See fines below for a detailed explanation of overdue and replacement charges.

Circulation Desk

To borrow library materials, take them to the Circulation Desk located just inside the main entrance to the library. Patrons should provide a university ID card or ID number. When returning library materials, use the return slot at the Circulation Desk or the outdoor book return located by the library's back door near the loading area. If patrons return borrowed books elsewhere, the check-in system is bypassed, and they may receive overdue notices. The Circulation Desk is shut down five minutes before closing.

How to renew your books online
  1. Go to the SU Library Catalog.
  2. Select Sign In at the top right of the screen.
  3. Type your Username in the first field (your Simpson ID number).
  4. Type your password in the second field. If you haven't set your password or have forgotten it, click the link SET/RESET PASSWORD and follow the steps as dictated on screen. A message will be sent to the primary email address attached to your profile (usually your Simpson address).
  5. Once you've logged in, click your name (appearing where Sign In did previously) and select My Account.
  6. The resulting page will include a Checkouts tab, and it should automatically be selected. If not, click on it.
  7. There is a Renew button to the right of every title you are currently borrowing. Click the button for items you wish to renew. If there are no entries here, you are not currently borrowing anything from the library. You may not renew items that:
    • Are overdue.
    • Have already been renewed once (or twice for graduate students).
    • Have been requested by another patron.
    • Have more than five days remaining before they are overdue.
  8. Select [Your Name] > Sign Out (top right) after you have finished managing your account.
Loan periods
Circulating materials

The circulating collection includes books located in the library's main stacks, oversize materials, and curriculum items. Most materials that circulate may be checked out for 28 days and usually may be renewed only once. Library users are encouraged to renew books and other materials online (see the renew instructions above). Patrons may also renew items by telephone. However, if another patron has placed a hold on an item, the library circulating system will not renew it. If renewing material by telephone, a patron must have the barcode number for each item and his/her Simpson identification number ready before making the call.

Non-circulating materials

Reference books, atlases, paper periodicals, and Simpson, Tozer and Weggland collections do not circulate. A $10.00 fine per item will be charged to anyone taking these materials from the library without permission.

Reserve materials

Reserve materials are those that instructors have asked the library to place on limited circulation so all their students can use them. Reserve materials are kept at the Circulation Desk and circulate for 2 hour, 24 hour, 1 week, and 2 week periods.

Videos and DVDs

Simpson University faculty may borrow and take these resources outside the library. Students must view them on a computer or TV/Player unit in the library and are required to leave some form of valid identification (student ID card or driver's license) with a library employee for the duration of the viewing session.


Who Can Use the Library?

This section describes who can use the Library and its resources.

Primary users

The primary users of the Simpson University library are current students, faculty and staff. These individuals have full access to all library resources and services under the appropriate guidelines and with a few exceptions.

Public use policy

The primary mission of the Simpson University Library is to satisfy the information needs of current Simpson University students, faculty, and staff as they relate to the educational role of the University. Although the University Library is not a public one, it offers two levels of limited public access to its resources and services.

Limited access with borrowing privileges

The Library extends borrowing privileges to Simpson University alumni, local clergy (official), and Shasta College and Shasta Bible College students and faculty. Shasta College and Shasta Bible College reciprocate by extending library privileges to Simpson University students and faculty. These users:

  1. Must show some form of photo identification (such as a driver's license or valid student/faculty ID) when borrowing materials;
  2. May have up to 5 items checked out at any time;
  3. Assume responsibility for keeping track of due dates and returning or renewing library materials on time;
  4. Accept liability for overdue fines for materials not returned on time and charges for lost or damaged materials;
  5. May not borrow additional materials while having overdue materials or unpaid library fines or charges;
  6. May use reference books, periodicals, and audiovisual resources within the library;
  7. May use the library's computers but should voluntarily yield to Simpson University students, faculty, and staff and limit sessions to 30 minutes unless other similarly equipped computer workstations are vacant;
  8. May not be granted off-campus access to subscription databases; and,
  9. Are not eligible for interlibrary loan services through Simpson University.
Limited access without borrowing privileges

The Library extends limited library privileges to other public users such as visiting scholars and Redding area residents. These users:

  1. May use books, periodicals, and audiovisual resources within the library;
  2. May use the library's computers but should voluntarily yield to Simpson University students faculty, and staff and limit sessions to 30 minutes unless other similarly equipped computer workstations are vacant; and,
  3. Are not granted off-campus access to subscription databases licensed for use by Simpson University faculty, students, and staff.

For library services that exceed the limits of this policy, public users are referred to their respective primary library service providers such as a public library and/or another academic library.

A Note on Database Access

Databases licensed by the Simpson University Library may only be used by Simpson University faculty, students, staff, and official volunteers. It would be a violation of our legal agreements to grant access to individuals not part of one or more of these groups.


Fines Policies

This section describes how fines accrue and are assessed at the Library.

Damaged materials

Fees for damaged and lost materials include repair or replacement costs plus a $10.00 service charge.

Fine notices

The date due slip is a reminder of the day an item is due back in the Library. As a service, the Library sends out overdue notices, fine notices and statements. The Library, however, levies fines even if the patron has not received notification. To view the status of materials checked out, refer to Circulation Policies which describes how to renew your books online (steps 1-6).

Overdue or lost materials
28 Day Materials 25 cents per day
2 Hour Reserves 50 cents per day
24 and 48 Hour Reserves 50 cents per day

The library charges fines for overdue materials at the above rate until they are more than 21 days overdue. On the 22nd day, the library considers unreturned items lost. At that time, the library charges $10.00 plus the replacement cost (current retail or out-of-print price) for each lost item. The library then removes the fines that accumulated during the previous 21 days. Students are given sixty to ninety days to pay or dispute fines, service charges or material replacement fees. The library maintains these charges internally for a minimum of 60 days. Between the first and fifteenth of every month, the library transfers carried charges older than 60 days to student accounts.


Interlibrary Loan Policies

The Library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service is intended to support research efforts of students and employees by supplementing resources in the collection. Its purpose is not to act as an alternative for class textbooks or for recreational reading. Members of the Simpson University community are welcome to submit ILL requests through the library. However, please check the catalog, electronic databases, and/or journal holdings prior to using the service. The library may already have access to the material for which you are searching. If you have determined that we don't have the item you need, please confirm your search when asked to do so.

ILL service is only available to current Simpson University faculty, students, and staff. All other library users, including those with local clergy, Shasta College, and Shasta Bible College accounts, must contact their local public libraries, workplace libraries, or other appropriate institutions to obtain these services. Before submitting a request, verify that the Simpson University library or another local institution (e.g. Shasta County library) does not have the item.

The ILL transaction is a process in which we broadcast your need and other libraries respond to it. Since we initially attempt to only borrow from libraries that do not charge, most loans are free. Sometimes this is not possible and we can only borrow from those that charge. In these circumstances, you are responsible for any borrowing fees, and you will need to tell us how much you are willing to pay to fulfill your request. If you aren't willing to pay anything, that's fine, but know that the search for your materials will end with the "free" libraries. If we use a charging library for the loan, we will notify you of the charge and obtain your approval before proceeding with it. While most journal requests are filled electronically and are free, we will charge you 10 cents per page for journal articles filled in hard copy form. In other cases, we may respond to your request by purchasing the title for the Simpson Library if we feel that the the title warrants inclusion in our collection. If we decide on this option, we will not charge you because the item is now the Library's property.

Requests for widely available books and journal articles are normally filled quickly while those for rare items and audio/video resources can take some time and may be unsuccessful. Regardless of the material requested, the Library does not guarantee that we will be able to fill your requests. Please also note that we may fill your requests with eBooks and digital journal articles at our discretion.

Please read the following copyright restrictions carefully before requesting an interlibrary loan.

Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

The Simpson University Library reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

In accordance with the U.S. Copyright law, patrons are limited to 5 photocopy requests per calendar year from the most recent 5 years of any publication not owned by the Simpson University Library.

In order to be eligible for interlibrary loan services, you will be asked to verify understanding of these  copyright restrictions and acceptance of full responsibility for compliance with stated Copyright Law.

Recommendations

Many ILL requests are filled quickly. However, we advise users of the service to start their research as early as possible and be prepared to wait some time for their requests to arrive. Although the Library receives most materials much sooner, some may take several weeks to arrive assuming that another library fills the request. We occasionally receive requests that we aren't& able to fill through ILL.

Please request only those items necessary for your research, retrieve materials promptly after notification and return them on or before the due date. When filling out ILL forms, please be as comprehensive as possible. A lack of information on the request may delay or preclude the filling of your order. Required fields are identified by the label (required).

Simpson University
Start-Kilgour Memorial Library
2211 College View Dr., Redding, CA 96003
530.226.4117
contact us