Skip to main content

About

Library Introduction

For a comprehensive and printable introduction to the library, refer to the guide, Introduction to the Library.

The Start-Kilgour Memorial library provides an extensive collection of books, journals, and audio/visual materials for use by students and employees of Simpson University. Services provided include instruction, reference, interlibrary loan, and reserve lending.

The online library contains hundreds of thousands of eBooks, tens of thousands of journal titles representing millions of articles, and tens of thousands of streaming videos. It also includes searching tools, guides, policies, library hours, contact forms, and general information.

Library Website: https://simpsonu.libguides.com

The physical library is centrally located in the Grubbs Learning Center and occupies much of the first and second floors. It houses about 100,000 volumes, group and individual study areas, public use computers with Internet access and Microsoft Office applications, WiFi access, printers, photocopiers, scanners, and fax machines.

First floor

  • Book Stacks (AC - QC)
  • Children's Literature Collection
  • Circulation Desk
  • Curriculum Collection
  • Group Study Room (The Cave)
  • Oversize Materials
  • Periodical Back Files
  • Photocopiers (1)
  • Public Access PCs (11)
  • Reference Room
  • Study Areas
  • TV + DVD/VCR unit (The Cave)

Second Floor

  • A.B. Simpson Collection
  • Atlas Collection
  • Book Stacks (QC - Z)
  • Current Periodicals and Newspapers
  • Group Study Room (The Loft)
  • 3 Private Study Rooms (Simpson and Tozer rooms and one unnamed)
  • Public Access PCs (18)
  • Study Areas
  • TV + DVD/VCR unit (Tozer room)
  • Weggland Collection

Technical Services

  • A.W. Tozer Collection
  • Audiovisuals
Simpson University
Start-Kilgour Memorial Library
2211 College View Dr., Redding, CA 96003
530.226.4117
contact us